SAWS - South African Weather Service



Current Advisories
Regional Sigmet Guide


Aviation website
Copyright SAWS


The METWSG SIGMET Advisory Trials is scheduled to run for a three month period starting from the 4th April to 30th June 2011. Three states, South Africa, France and China have been selected to be the host of the SIGMET advisory centres during this period.

South Africa will be responsible to issue SIGMET Advisories to MWOs in the southern parts of the AFI Region (SADC plus Rwanda and Burundi). France will be responsible for the northern parts of the AFI-Region and China for the ASIA PACIFIC Region.

The State letter inviting MWOs to participate in the SIGMET Advisory Trial in the AFI Region was issued on the 24 February 2011 by the ICAO Eastern and Southern Office (ESAF).